Deccan Chronicle - 17 June 2024

Jagan leads TVS 1-2-3

DC CORRESPONDENT CHENNAL JUNE 16

It was a day of the "dou-ble" at the Madras International Circuit here on Sunday as the first round of the MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorevele Racing fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2024 con-cluded with the new gener-ation of riders emerging to displace the old guard. Teenager Sarthak Chavan (Pro-Stock 301-400cc Open), schoolgirl Rakshitha Dave (Girls, Stock 165cc), Abdul Basim (Novice, Stock 165cc), and Kaushik Subbiah Ganesan (Novice, Stock 301-400cc) Kaushik Subbiah Ganesan (Novice, Stock 301-400cc) won both races this week-end in their respective National Championship categories. Barring Pune's Sarthak, the other three riders are from Chennai. Sarthak Chavan the 17. Sarthak Chavan, the 17-

year-old prodigy, estab-lished himself as the top gun in the premier Pro-

Stock 301-400cc Open class, winning both races over the weekend in an emphat-ic manner. Following home in P2 in both races was another 17-year-old, Chiranth Vishwanath from Bengaluru, who just couldn't match Sarthak's pace. The duo dominated both races leaving the rest to scrap for the other podi-um spot. Sarthak, however, missed a possible win, despite starting P7 on the grid, in the other premier category, the Pro-Stock 165cc, when he crashed fagain after tangling with Chiranth when the two were fighting for 1-2 posi-tions. The Pune youngster had crashed in Race-1 on Saturday when leading. Though both Sarthak and Chiranth recovered to rejoin the race, veteran TVS Racing team-

and Chiranti recovered to rejoin the race, veteran TVS Racing team-mates Jagan Kumar, KY Ahamed and Deepak Ravikumar made the best of the free

space in front to finish in that order. For Jagan, a multiple National champi-on, it was his first win of the season after a barren 2020 2023

the season after a barren 2023. Chennai schoolgirl, 15-year-old Rakshiltha Dave completed a fine double in the Girls (Slock 165cc) cat-egory. Having won Race-1 on Saturday, she extended her domination with a sweeping win in Race-2 today, virtually unchal-lenged. Similarly, another Chennai teenager Abdul Basim (Rockers Racing) achieved a clean sweep in the Novice (Stock 165cc) category, winning Race-2 today with as much ease as in the previous outing on Saturday. Later, another Chennai rider, Kaushik Subbaiah Ganesan also notched a double in the Stock 301-ulooc (Novice) class with

400cc (Novice) class with another fine ride starting from pole position.

Senthilkumar C (Coimbatore) enjoyed a fruitful weekend as he won both the races in the Apache RR 310 category. Having won Saturday's Race-1, Senthilkumar dis-played relentless pace in topping today's Race-2 ahead of two Chennai rid-ers, Manoj Yesuadian and Jayanth P. Bengaluru's Harshith V Bogar continued to domi-nate the Rookie category as he finished the weekend with a double by winning Race-2 today on the back of his triumph in the previ-ous outing on Saturday. CS Kedar nath (Tirupati) scrambled to second place Senthilkumar

Kedarnath (Tirupati) scrambled to second place while Saranjith KM (Thrissur) finished third. Earlier, Pune's Sarthak topped the TVS Electric RTE race quite comfort-ably with his arch-rival Chiranth Vishwanath fin-ishing second and

chennai's Alwyn Sundar third.



Ional Cha Pune,TVS (11mins, Chiranth (P Racing) 16.788se cs); 2. Vishwanath (Bengaluru, TVS Racing) (11:17.567); 3

1Y3 Hacing) (111/L957); 3, Alwyn Sundar A (Chennal, Gusto Racing) (112/2870). (12:2870). (Chennal, TY5 Racing) (12:10/175); 2, Ahamad KY (Chennal, TY5 Racing) (12:10/175); 2, Ahamad KY (Chennal, TY5 Racing) (12:18,302); 3, Deepak Ravikumar (Chennal, TY5 Racing) (12:18,511). Novice (Stock 155cc) Race-2: 1, Abdul Basim R5 (Chennal, Rockers Racing) (13:02.075); 2, Kamal Navas (Chennal, One Racing) (13:02.075); 2, Kamal Navas (Chennal, R5 (Chennal, Rockers Racing) (13:02.075); 2, Kamal Navas (Chennal, One Racing) (13:02.075); 2, Kamal Navas (Chennal, One Racing) (13:02.075); 2, Kamal Navas (Chennal, Chanal, Rockers Chennal, Rockers Dave (Chennal, RACR Castrol Power I Ultimato) (10:02.847); 2, Ryhana Bee (Chennal, RACR Castrol Power I Ultimato) (10:02.847); 3, Jagathishree Kumaresan (Chennal, One Racing) (11:02.2400). Novice (Stock 301-Novice (Stock 301-Novice (Stock 301-Novice (Stock 101-RacC 2); 2, Aldrin Babu (Chalakudy, RACR Castrol Power I Ultimato) (12:23:75); 2, Nyhana Ben (Chennal, RACR Castrol Power I Ultimato) (12:23:55).

Columb ref 2004 11 Senthilkumar C (Colimbatore) (11:52.043); 2. Manoj Yesuadian (Chennai) (11:55.840); 3.Jayanth P (Chennai) (11:58.264); Rookie (Apache RTR 200) Race 2: I. Harshit V Bogar (Bangaluru) (13:26.291); 2. Custo (13:26.293); 3. Saranjith (13:26:291); 2: CS Kedarnadh (Tirupati) (13:26:499); 3: Saranjith (W) (Thrisaur) (13:45:18); TVS Electric RTE (4 lapp); 1: Sarthak Clavan (Pune) (07:26:459); 2: Chiranth Vishwanath (Bengalura) (07:26:479); 3: Alvyn Sundar A (07:34:190); NSF 250 R (Reac-2) (2: Iopa); 1: Shyam Sundar (Chennai) (05:46:716); 2: Mohsin Paramban (M al 14 ap ur a m) (05:47:106); 3: Rakshit 5 Dave (Chennai) (05: 47806);

